The Chicago Bulls: A History of one of the NBA’s Greatest Teams

The Chicago Bulls are one of the most well-recognized NBA teams. With a history that dates back to 1966, the Bulls have been around for a while, and have seen some ups and downs. As one of the league’s flagship franchises, they have been at the forefront of many events in NBA history. The team has won six championship titles throughout its existence. This article will explore those wins as well as other interesting facts about the Chicago Bulls. Keep reading to learn more. And if you want to learn more about one the most popular game in the world click here 

Who are the Chicago Bulls?

The Chicago Bulls are an NBA team that has played in the Central Division of the Eastern Conference since the 1984-85 season. They are one of the six teams that comprise the NBA’s original league. The team plays their home games at the United Center in Chicago, Illinois. The Bulls are a member of the “big three” of major sports teams in the city of Chicago, along with the Chicago Bears in football and the Chicago Blackhawks in hockey. The team is owned by businessman Jerry Reinsdorf. He also owns the Chicago White Sox. The Bulls are coached by Billy Donovan. The Bulls have won six NBA Championships, third only to the Boston Celtics who have won 17 and Los Angeles Lakers.

The Chicago Bulls’ first title: 1990-91

The 1990-91 Chicago Bulls were the first to win a title in franchise history.  The team was led by Michael Jordan, Scottie Pippen and Phil Jackson. After a really good regular season, the Bulls finally got by the Detroit Pistons and then beat the Los Angeles Lakers in five games to capture their first NBA title in franchise history. It was the beginning of a three-peat for the Bulls.

1991-92: The second championship

The Bulls were one of the favorites to win the championship again in 1991-92. They finished the regular season with a 67-15 record, the best in all of the NBA. They cruised through the playoffs beating Miami, New York and Cleveland before beating Portland in the NBA Finals.

The three-peat: 1992-93 title

They finished the season with a 57-25 record, which was good enough for second place in the Eastern Conference. Chicago swept Atlanta and then Cleveland before facing the Knicks once again in the Eastern Conference Finals. The Bulls won the series 4-2 and advanced to the NBA Finals to face the Phoenix Suns. This series went six games, but the Bulls came out on top to win their third championship in a row.

1997-98: The Greatest Team ever

The Bulls finished the regular season 72-10, setting a new NBA record for most wins as the return of Michael Jordan as well as the previous additions of Dennis Rodman and Toni Kukoc paid off this season.

The Bulls swept Miami in the first round and then took care of New York in the second round before sweeping Orlando in the Eastern Conference Finals. They beat Seattle 4-2 in the NBA Finals.

1996-97: The fifth title

After another impressive regular season with a 69-13 record, the Bulls cruised through the playoffs again beating Washington, Atlanta and Miami. That set up a showdown with Utah. Chicago won the title on their home court in six games, beating the Jazz for the fifth title.

1997-98: The second three-peat

The Last Dance saw the Chicago Bulls finish 62-20 before making quick work of New Jersey and Charlotte in the first two rounds. Indiana gave Chicago a run, forcing a game seven that the Bulls eventually won and that meant a rematch with Utah in the NBA Finals. Jordan hit the game-winner in Game 6 to deliver the sixth and last time for the dynasty before he retired.


The Chicago Bulls have had a long and illustrious history, and are one of the most well-known teams in all of sports. They have been at the top of the NBA for decades and have won six championship titles. The Bulls have been one of the best teams in the NBA, with winning records most years. Fans can expect the Bulls to be contenders for many years to come.

Read More

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.